• Laura Vida

Book Recommendations from 0 - 10 years

Here are six titles guaranteed to transport, enrich and entertain you and your child. We have scoured online bookshop listings, reader reviews, book forums, publisher websites and more, to bring you the best. Hopefully, there will be something here for a child you know!


Happy Easter Corduroy by Don Freeman (2021) 0+ years

This board book is a charming introduction to Easter. The story is suitably simple and the illustrations adorable. Perfect for toddlers. Also available as a pop-up book.


The Color Monster: A story about emotions by Anna Llenas (2016) 5+


This useful book was first recommended by a primary teacher. It helps children to untangle, understand and manage common emotions such as fear, happiness and anger.



"This sensitive book . . . encourages young ones to open up and discuss how they feel, even when their thoughts are confusing." —Parents



The Big Sticker Book of Blooms by Yuval Zommer (2020) Age 7+


Drawing and design activities, games and over 250 stickers. This beautifully illustrated, fact-filled book will provide hours of entertainment and learning. Other books in this popular series are ‘Birds’, ‘Bugs’ and ‘The Blue’.


The Hatmakers by Tamzin Merchant (2021) 8+


A gripping adventure set in 19th Century London. The heroine belongs to a line of magical milliners, who weave alchemy and enchantment into every hat. When her father is lost at sea, she sets out to find him. Inventive, hilarious, charming and hopeful, the book includes stunning black and white illustrations by Paola Escobar.


Twelve Nights by Andrew Zurcher (2018) 9+


Fans of C.S. Lewis, Philip Pullman and Terry Pratchett will love this fantasy novel. It whisks a child into an exhilarating world of plotters, weavers and storytellers, whilst drawing on familiar myths and legends. Deeper, universal themes are also evoked and the language is exquisite.




Orphans of the Tide by Struan Murray (2020) Age 9+

When a mysterious boy emerges from a beached whale, the residents of The City are sure he's been sent by the enemy. Only the young inventor Ellie believes he's innocent...

A thrilling adventure full of peril, mystery, twists and gripping cat-and-mouse chases. The Scottish writer’s debut novel has been described as ‘unputdownable' (The Times), ‘sumptuously atmospheric’ and ‘tirelessly inventive' (The Daily Telegraph). And the sequel comes out this month.

All available to order at your local Edinburgh bookshop.

Information

Social

Facebook 

Twitter 

Instagram

YouTube

Quick Links

Contact Us

8/10 Eyre Place,

EH3 5EP

07908 131741

selectpublishingltd@gmail.com

© 2021 by Select Publishing Ltd